UT Austin - Portugal Inaugural Ceremony Program

Interdisciplinary research,
education and capacity building


In conjunction with ALTEC 2013, XV Latin-Iberoamerican Congress on Technology Management

October 28-29, 2013

Monday, October 28

9:30-18:00: parallel sessions UTEN and CoLab

UTEN Annual Conference: “Internationalization, Technology Commercialization and Knowledge Exchange”.
Centro de Congressos da Alfândega do Porto (Porto, Portugal)

CoLab Doctoral Symposia on Digital Media, Advanced Computing, Mathematics, and Emerging Technologies.
Location: UPTEC Creative Industries Center (Porto, Portugal)

Tuesday, October 29

9:00-17:30: UTEN’s training session for startup ventures current enrolled in the Global Startup initiative on business development, incubation, and acceleration.
Location: UPTEC (Porto, Portugal)

10:00-12:30: CoLab’s Futureplaces’ Keynote Talk: "Distant Voices, Digital Presence: Transforming Storytelling with Digital Documentary,” by UT-Professor Nancy Schiesari
Location: UPTEC Creative Industries Center (Porto, Portugal)

14:00-18:00: Inaugural ceremony UT Austin-Portugal Program
Location: Salão Nobre at Rectorate of the University of Porto (Porto, Portugal)

Opening session
14:15 – President of the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT): Prof. Miguel Seabra.
14:30 – Rector of the University of Porto: Prof. Marques dos Santos.
14:45 – Secretary of State for Science: Prof. Leonor Parreira.
15:00– Vice President of FCT Dr Pedro Carneiro
15:15– – President of the Council of Rectors of the Portuguese Universities (CRUP): Prof. António Rendas.*
(Round table discussions; topics: past and future activities, collaboration with industry, and entrepreneurial endeavors)
15:00 – Digital Media: Profs. Nuno Correia, Heitor Alvelos, Carlos Guedes*, Karen Gustafson
and Sharon Strover.
15:30 – Advanced Computing: Profs.Don Fussel and Fernando Silva.
16:00 – Mathematics: Juha Videman
16:30 – Emerging Technologies: Profs. Paula Vilarinho, and Brian Korgel.
17:00 – UTEN/BIZ.pt: Prof. José Manuel Mendonça and Marco Bravo.

Closing session
17:30 – Director in Portugal: Prof. Fernando Santana.*
17:45 – Director in Austin: Marco Bravo.
18:00 – Chairman of the Advisory Board of the IC2 Institute: Mark Calhoun.
* To be confirmed